Signal Processing and Machine Learning


The Signal Processing and Machine Learning research group focuses on Signal and Image Processing Algorithms, Computer Vision Techniques, Machine Learning and Deep Learning Techniques, Multimedia Systems, and Embedded Architectures.

Research Topics

  • Object Detection / Recognition / Tracking
  • Transcoding Video Codecs and Audio Codecs
  • Algorithmic Efficiency in Video Codecs 
  • Algorithmic Efficiency in Image Codecs 
  • Multiplexing of Audio and Video Codecs
  • Machine Learning Techniques on Image Coding


  • Shooter Localisation Systems
  • Heterogeneous/​Homogeneous Transcoding for Next Generation Multimedia Video Codecs
  • Video Quality Evaluation and Testing Verifications of H.264, HEVC, VVC and EVC Video Compression Standards
  • Performance Comparisons of Jpeg, JpegXT, JpegLS, Jpeg2000, JpegXR, HEVC and VVC
  • Application of Deep Learning and Compressed Sensing for Reconstruction of Images


  • University of Texas at Arlington – (Multimedia Research Lab) – Shreyanka Subbarayappa
  • Project Multiplexing of Next Generation Video Codecs with Audio Codecs”
  • Project Performance Evaluation for Versatile Video Coding and Essential Video Coding” 
  • Book write-up with Dr K R Rao from UTA as the co-author on the title Digital Video Coding for Next Generation Multimedia” to be published by River Publishers
  • Book write-up with Dr K R Rao from UTA as a co-author on the title Multimedia Projects Booklet”
  • Google LLC, USA – Shreyanka is working as a Subject Expert” for one of their patent litigations projects


  • Multimedia Boards
  • Embedded Processor Kits


  • IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology
  • IEEE Transactions on Image Processing
  • IEEE Transactions on Multimedia
Centre for Signal Processing and Communications Systems Research (CSPCSR)
#470-P, Peenya Industrial Area, 4th Phase, Bengaluru-560058
080 25555555
email hidden; JavaScript is required
Dr. Govind R Kadambi Dr. Ramaswamy Karthikeyan B Dr. Rinki Sharma Dr. Nandyala Dhani Gangadhar Dr. Punithavathi D Dr. Sunil Y Dr. Varun D Mr. Ambresh G. Biradar Dr. Bharath Kumara Ms. Prafulla Kumari Kannangala Siddaiah Dr. Shreyanka Subbarayappa